Posted in Challenges/Prompts, original

Hang Them To Dry (Wednesday Challenge) and The Moon and the Starless Sky featured at Masticadores PH

Eid Mubarak to all our Muslim brothers and sisters! Blessings be upon you and yours. 😊

Gerry and Sue are our hosts for #Weekly Prompts Wednesday Challenge – Clothesline

Place the clothes inside the pail
Go outside and hang them to dry
I was always proud to hang them properly
Like how mom taught us
My brothers would carry the heavy pails full of clothes and bed sheets
We'd help each other with the household chores
Laundry was always early morning
By 8am, we'd have all finished
Clothes, linens, bedsheets, all lined perfectly

In the afternoon they'd have all dried
We'd take them down around 4pm
They always smelled so good even when fabric conditioners weren't a thing back then

I miss drying clothes on the clothesline
They always seemd to dry perfectly
Or maybe, mom was just so good at doing the laundry

© Maria Michaela

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hey folks! I’d also like to take this opportunity to share with you one of my old poems which has been published at Masticadores Philippines.

This is nostalgic to me and tugs my heart a bit as I came up with this poem while I walked our dog Bogart early in the morning all those years ago. Here’s an excerpt of The Moon and the Starless Sky.

the moon is out, it shines bright but the stars aren’t out tonight

the starless sky makes the moon look so lonely

yet I can’t help but feel that it’s proud

– The Moon and the Starless Sky

Read the rest of the poem at Masticadores PH. 🙂

Also, part two of my new poem series, The Tale of the Lovers will be out tomorrow.

XO,