I was asked so many times
No answer was quite certain
I could have collected thousands of dimes
Or just ended with a closed curtain

But then, myself I asked
What is the kind of man I want?
I made a list, which was such a task,
In hopes a wish may be granted.

I’d like for him to be
Someone who truly cares for me
Someone who will be
My eyes, when I cannot see

A man I can talk to about anything and everything
A man who listens, even when he says nothing
One who knows how to make me laugh
And continues to do so even when I’ve had enough

A man who will comfort me in sadness
And lifts me up in happiness
A man who argues but never fights
One who teaches me wrong from right

A man who’s shoulder I can lean on
A man who tells me not to quit, and to go on
One who loves me, and whose love is real
But above all loves God,
This is my deal

